what’s for dinner?: lentil chilli

We’ve all been there, you have what seems like a lot of nothing in your fridge, (or at least a very random looking selection) so you decide to whip something up. No recipe. No solid foundation. Pure creativity!😉

When this happens, I’d say soup and/or chilli are safe go-to’s. I personally don’t love soup unless its super hearty. So I opted for chilli. The only problem is…I didnt have any chilli powder! 😟

Well I looked up a recipe in which I had just a couple of the spices called. So I improvised! For example, it called for a tsp of oregano but not having any, I used “italian seasoning” which contains oregano. I also didn’t have cayenne or paprika so I used a cajun spice I had that contained both. 😃

I also didn’t have meat so I chose to use lentils. Which makes this meal vegan friendly! 😃

Ok, Ok so what DID I have???

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 cup dry lentils
  • 1 can red beans
  • Leftover marinara sauce
  • 1 Zucchini
  • 1 Tomato

First I mixed my spices

Next, I got out my crockpot, plugged it in and set it on high.

Then, I mixed my spices with the marinara sauce and put it in.

I added the beans, lentils, diced tomato and zucchini and mixed all of it together.

Cover and leave alone for 4 hrs.OR you can cook the lentils separately until tender and just cook the whole thing in a pot for 10-20 min.

I put it in a bowl and shred some cheddar on it and garnished it with 2 pieces of  zucchini.

And with my hubby in mind, I fried up some zucchini on the side!😉

It came out great! And Hubby approved!😁

One thought on “what’s for dinner?: lentil chilli

Leave a Reply

